Another New Year

Okay, I realize it is already February, so a new year’s theme is a bit dated, but, sometimes, I process slowly and, sometimes, I just need a jumpstart. Today I got a jumpstart.

I had a conversation this morning with someone who told me that I “should” share myself more with the world. And, while that had been a conclusion I had reached when I started this blog, I bristled at the suggestion that HE had some right to tell ME what I SHOULD do with my life. I suggested to him that we might get along better if he did not do that.

He explained that he was just trying to point out that I am wonderful – gotta love that! But, I stuck to my suggestion that there is no respectful connection between thinking I am wonderful and telling me how I should live my life. I don’t really want to surround myself with people who are busy trying to live my life instead of their own or who, even in subtle ways, communicate that they don’t think I can handle my own life. When someone judges me by telling what I should do, I feel disrespected. I know he meant no disrespect, but I think I want to surround myself with him and I know myself well enough to know that I will start resenting even well-intentioned suggestions that I am not making the right choices for myself. I think he got it.

I hope it got it, because I started this one-in, one-out policy in my life (New Year’s Blessings) and I think I am going to make room for him.

That, of course, leads to the question of who gets booted out of my life, but I think I have that handled. There is an attorney I hope to never deal with again, and he has been kind enough to get fired by his client so I may get my wish.

Seems like a pretty good exchange. And, here I am blogging again. Maybe, I’ll get to something more serious soon. Or not. Or, maybe, this is a serious issue. I think I can always do with a bit more respect- and a bit more blogging. We’ll see how this year goes for writing.

Leave a Reply

